Movie Review: Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

download

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2

Dir.: James Gunn

Rating: 7/10

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 has so much hype to live up to. The first installment received a crazy amount of praise for being new, fresh, and fun. Can volume 2 live up to this standard? I’m here to tell you yes it can, at least to an extent.

This movie has a lot going for it: spectacular visuals, costumes, sets, dialogue, and characters. There are colors out the wazoo in this film. Everything is bright and pretty to look at. The special effects create fun new worlds for us to explore such as the brothel, Ego’s planet, and the Ravagers’ ship. It was quite the fun adventure.

I think both the biggest things it had going for and against it are the characters however. On the one hand Groot and Drax shine as the best parts of the movie. I honestly expected Groot to be way to much and way to silly, but every scene he was in was a joy! Drax however came out of nowhere with his hilarious obliviousness. He honestly surprised me as one of my favorite parts of the movie. On the other hand however, I felt as though Ego’s character was incredibly too predictable. Every single “shocking” thing he did or said could be seen from a mile away. This isn’t to say I hated it, but rather I feel as though it could have been done better. At the same time, I also hated pretty much every scene with Thanos’ daughters. Their rivalry and hatred of each other just didn’t land for me.

The story itself was fun and engaging. I loved the side of the story with Rocket and Groot trying to get to Ego’s planet and I liked the side of the story on egos planet. The movie was good, but not as good as it could have been. Definitely worth a watch though!

I give Guardians Vol. 2 a respectable 7/10.

Leave a Reply

