Movie Review: Alien: Covenant

sddefault

Alien: Covenant

Dir.: Ridley Scott

Rating: 8/10

Its 2017 and there are a lot of movies to look forward to this summer. I personally have been looking forward to this movie more than any other. Honestly I was a little worried that I had a little too much hype for it and that it wouldn’t live up but I can honestly say that I was not disappointed.

Ridley Scott did something very interesting with this movie. Scott definitely wanted to make a return to the horror elements that he began with and it shows with this movie for sure. When this film finally gets going it kicks right on up to 100! The scene with the backburster all the way until the flare is shot is my favorite part of the movie. Its fast paced, scary, and really pretty. This is the first time we get to see the neo-morph(the pale alien), and I think it was a great addition as it is terrifying.

I will say however, that I feel as though Scott mashed his two previous films together. Prometheus was met with mixed reviews because of its lack of xenomorphs and lack of scariness, but it was important because Scott is really trying to flesh out the world he created. While this film definitely upped the ante on horror, it still kept the lore-building aspects of Prometheus. We get to learn about what David and Shaw have been up to as well as some information about the aliens themselves.

One thing I need to touch on is the visuals. The original film featured a guy in a costume running around and it looked beautiful, this movie did not follow the same trend. Most of the effects seem to rely heavily on CGI and this isn’t a bad thing. Scott set out to do what he wasn’t able to with the original Alien. This movie gives us a beautiful display of creatures and gore. We get to truly see how beautiful these aliens are and its exhilarating every time they are on the screen.

I know this film is being met with mixed reviews but I loved it. It was just scary enough to keep me on the edge of my seat, and it had just enough story to satisfy my desire to know more, plus it leaves on a terrifying note that keeps us eagerly awaiting his next film!

I’m giving Alien: Covenant an unsurprising 8/10!

Leave a Reply

