Movie Review: It Follows

it-follows-1

It Follows

Dir.: David Robert Mitchell

Rating: 8/10

When Jay, a teenage girl, sleeps with her new boyfriend she begins to be followed by death, a creature that only she and a few others can see. She is told that she will continue to be followed until she passes it on to someone else.

It follows was very highly acclaimed upon release so its a shame that it took me this long to get around to it. I was very pleased obviously by this movie, however was very surprised by the feel of this movie. While this movie is very menacing, with some very scary moments, it almost seems to play like an adventure movie. At times It Follows feels like the love-child of The Goonies and Stranger Things (Which isn’t a thing I knew I wanted until now). The tone is definitely dark and brooding but I felt as though I was on a bit of a journey with the characters. This very welcome surprise honestly made the movie for me. What could’ve been an original, scary movie turned out to be a fun adventure with a bunch of kids running from and trying to defeat a monster.

I’m giving It Follows a highly recommendable 8/10.

 


 

Hey guys, I know I haven’t been posting in a while. I could give you the excuses of being really busy and all that good stuff, but I’ll spare you all of that. I’m working on revamping the blog soon and making some big announcements so stay tuned for some good stuff! Thanks all!

Leave a Reply

