Movie Review: Swiss Army Man

og-share.png

Swiss Army Man

Dir.: Daniel Scheinert, Dan Kwan

Rating: 7.5/10

WARNING!!! This review is not for the feint of fart

I mean heart

..

I don’t know if I’ve ever been as emotionally confused as I am right now. Was this movie bad? Was this movie good? Was it something entirely different? I don’t know the answer, but what I do know is that it was something unlike anything I have ever seen.

Paul Dano(Hank) is stranded on a deserted island when he meets a corpse named Manny played by Daniel Radcliffe. Suddenly, through their new friendship, they are able to embark on an adventure back home to find Hank’s true love.

The first fifteen minutes or so of this movie were interesting to say the least. I asked the question, “Is this real?” at least seven times. There was so much farting… There is a scene where Paul Dano rides Daniel Radcliffe’s dead body like a boat through water being propelled by farts… You cant write this stuff people..

I honestly expected to hate this movie after the first section, but once they embark on their journey it actually turns into a bit of a fun, quirky story. At some point Manny find the ability to talk and we are never really told if he was really talking or not, but that was an intentional thing by the writers. Their stories unfold and I would be lying if I said I wasn’t invested. There are even scenes that I thought were really sweet. About three quarters through the movie there is a very happy montage of Hank and Manny doing things together and it really was quite lovely. I really enjoyed the rest of the movie, until the ending that is.

Without spoiling anything, the movie shifts from a weird comedy(?) to a sweet quest to get home and find love, and the back to the weird comedy(?) in the last five minutes. Honestly if the movie had ended on the more serious tone they kinda started to go for, I think I would’ve like the movie a lot more, but overall I strangely enjoyed the movie.

I give Swiss Army Man a gassy 7.5/10.

Leave a Reply

